30 Bowl Alums Join NFL Ranks in April

Thirty more players who have played in past Beef ‘O’ Brady’s Bowl St. Petersburg games have joined the NFL ranks.  Eight of the players were selected in the NFL Draft and 22 additional players signed free agent contracts.  Leading the list of drafted players is FIU’s FS John Cyprien who was the 33rd player selected (Jacksonville Jaguars).  Marshall WR Aaron Dobson, the Bowl MVP for the Herd, was a 2nd round pick of the New England Patriots.  

Players from all past five years of the Bowl game are included on this list, including two USF players from the inaugural game in 2008.  The Rutgers team from 2009 produced nine players to lead the list.

2012 Game (8) UCF vs. Ball State

UCF (7)

A.J. Bouye, CB, Houston Texans

Troy Davis, DE, New York Jets

Theo Goins, OG, Atlanta Falcons

Kemal Ishmael, CB, Atlanta Falcons

Quincy McDuffie, WR, Denver Broncos

Latavius Murray, RB, Oakland Raiders

Ray Shipman, OLB, New Orleans Saints

Ball State (1)

Austin Holtz, OT, Detroit Lions

2011 Game (8) Marshall vs. FIU

Marshall (3)

Aaron Dobson, WR, New England Patriots

Andre Snipes-Booker, WR, Detroit Lions

Antavious Wilson, WR, New York Jets

FIU (5)

Jose Cheeseborough, CB, Baltimore Ravens

Johnathan Cyprien, S, Jacksonville Jaguars

Caylin Hauptmann, OT, Cleveland Browns

Junior Mertile, CB, New York Giants

Tourek Williams, DE, San Diego Chargers

2010 Game (3) Louisville vs. Southern Miss

Louisville (2)

Mario Benavides, C, Kansas City Chiefs

Alex Kupper, OT, Houston Texans

Southern Miss (1)

Jamie Collins, OLB, New England Patriots

2009 Game (9) Rutgers vs. UCF

Rutgers (9)

Steve Beauharnais, LB, New England Patriots

Marcus Cooper, CB, San Francisco 49ers

Ka’Lial Glaud, LB, Tampa Bay Buccaneers

Khaseem Greene, OLB, Chicago Bears

Mark Harrison, WR, Chicago Bears

Duron Harmon, S, New England Patriots

D.C. Jefferson, TE, Arizona Cardinals

Brandon Jones, CB, New England Patriorts

Tim Wright, WR, Tampa Bay Buccaneers

2008 Game (2) USF vs. Memphis

USF (2)

Maikon Bonani, K, Tennessee Titans

Danous Estenor, OL, Indianapolis Colts


2024 Union Home Mortgage Gasparilla Bowl Scheduled for Friday, December 20 at Raymond James Stadium

Organizers also announce the renewed commitment of Union Home Mortgage as the event’s Title Sponsor   Tampa, Fla. (June 6, 2024) – The Union Home Mortgage Gasparilla Bowl is set to take place at Raymond James Stadium on Friday, December 20, at 3:30 pm ET. Owned and operated by ESPN Events, the game will be broadcast […]



FINAL SCORE: GEORGIA TECH 30, UCF 17 Game MVP: Jamal Haynes, Georgia Tech – Rushing Statistics – 18 carries, 128 rushing yards, 7.1 yards per carry. His 128 rushing yards are the fourth-highest single-game total in Gasparilla Bowl history. Bowl Notes: ● The Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC) improves 3-0 in Gasparilla Bowl appearances while the […]

Skip to toolbar